(the rime-cold sea)

(the rime-cold sea)

There is a mythic mariner

Sailing on a shadowed sea.

He saw me in the swell to flounder,

Turned about for me.

‘What did you seek, young mariner?’

His eyes looked straight and sharp through me.

‘With good intentions, to be sure,

A glimpse of glory, clarity?’

‘All that and more,’ I said, ‘good sir,

I wanted what was fantasy,

But in the swell I fell and floundered,

No…no more for me.’

With hands the mythic mariner

Does stir the rime-cold sea.

‘I’ll take you with,’ he said, and thunder

Split the dark for me to see.

‘For all men seek that which you sought

A glimpse of glory, clarity.’

~ by mm on December 27, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
